Liz Has Obama’s Back

david   |   Sat, Jul 28, 2012 7:34 PM EST

President Obama’s mildly botched “you didn’t build that” comment has made it exceptionally easy for Republicans like Mitt Romney and Scott Brown to take his remark out of context and pretend that he meant something he didn’t.  That is unfortunate, though par for the course for the GOP.

But here’s a fascinating development: today, Elizabeth Warren doubled down on her far more eloquent statement of what Obama was trying to say.  In a campaign email with the subject “I meant what I said,” here’s the message:

Last August, I stood in a living room in Andover and talked about why our country faced a massive deficit and what it would take to move us forward as a nation.

I’m proud of what I said. I meant every single word of it.

I said, “There is nobody in this country who got rich on his own.” I praised the people who did get rich. I said, “You built a factory and it turned into something terrific or a great idea, God Bless!” But I asked those who make it big to invest in the next generation of kids so they will have a chance too….

We don’t know who is going to have the next big idea in America.

But we’re pretty sure they’re going to need employees who can read and write. They’re going to need power to keep the lights on and clean water and functioning sewers to keep going. They’re going to need roads and bridges to move their goods to market or bring customers to their store. And they’re going to need police officers and firefighters to keep their businesses safe.

That’s what makes America great. We make the investments together — to put the conditions in place so that businesses can flourish and create more opportunities for all of us. And it keeps going forward. When we make it, all of us have an obligation to invest in creating the conditions so the next kid can get ahead, and the kid after that, and the kid after that.

I believe in small businesses. My brother started a small business. My daughter started a small business. My aunt started a small business–and that’s where I worked when I was a teenager. I’ve seen up close and personal how hard small business owners work and how much they risk to make their businesses succeed.

Right now, Washington’s rigged for the big corporations who can afford armies of lobbyists and lawyers — not America’s small businesses. If Republicans like Scott Brown and Mitt Romney have their way, the system is going to stay rigged for the big guys.

The Republicans have their vision for the future. It says, “I’ve got mine, the rest of you are on your own.”

That’s not the American Dream. That’s not how we build a future for ourselves and our children. We build a future together.

“We build a future together.”  That’s it, in a nutshell, isn’t it?

Subscribe to BerkshireBrigadesNews by Email

Leave a Reply

